IPv4 to run out early next year

I better brush up on my Hexadecimal…but even so, the simple days of 208.125.150.178 are going to be a thing of the past.  By the end of 1Q in 2011, all of the remaining IPv4 numbers will be handed out.  That doesn’t mean all 4.3 billion numbers are completely taken.  That just means that there are no more that can be handed to ISP’s.  People with blocks of public IP’s may or may not be using them even if they are paying for them.

So in comes IPv6, the Hexadecimal-based IP schema of the future.  As much as I know it’s inevitable, I hate it.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to read an IP address to a customer, customer service rep or copy it myself.  The standard pattern is so easy to use, understand and relay.  Now I have to think about reading off something like this…2001:db8:1f70::999:de8:7648:6e8.

It seems dry and meaningless, like a MAC address.  Sure, this schema allows for 340 undecillion unique addresses, enough addresses for each person on this planet to have 425,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 of their own, but those addresses are so sterile, so stale.

I long for the simpler days.

Leave a Reply

